Diary of a Gen Y Professional

November 4, 2009

Here we go…

Filed under: Uncategorized — kdonahue87 @ 3:58 pm

I am a masochist.

I used to tell people I was a reformed workaholic. At age 20 I was working four jobs; I bartended at two restaurants, temped at an Internet marketing firm, did some freelance PR, and worked as a public relations coordinator at a startup agency.

Then I cut down my workload drastically. In September 2008 I moved to Ohio in hopes of relocating to Chicago and finding my dream job at a top PR firm.

Remember what else happened around that time? Oh yeah, that whole “Oh my God! The economy is collapsing!” thing. Suddenly jobs were scarce and I was stuck in Ohio. For the winter. Did I mention that I’m a native Floridian?

Without any professional job prospects I continued bartending at two restaurants. Then I cut down to one. Twenty-one years old, only one job, and no school. It drove me crazy. That’s when I made the decision to get the Hell out of Ohio and apply to grad school.

I returned to Florida in February and started grad school in May. Now I’m a full-time bartender, full-time graduate student, and I just got a part-time job as a social media coordinator. Oh, and within a couple of weeks I’m probably going to start freelancing again.

Looks like someone relapsed.

It’s been almost two years since I earned my bachelor’s degree. I’m a little older, a little wiser, and a lot more confident in my abilities as a PR person. Hopefully 2010 will be the year that I can transition out of bartending and focus solely on my professional career and my studies.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

